Get Adobe Flash player

Hall of Fame 2023, Raymond Teborek


Raymond "Ray" Teborek

Few individuals have contributed as much time and talent as Raymond “Ray” Teborek. He was a lifelong volunteer in the sport of sail boating and sail racing.

Ray spent 25 years mentoring the junior sailing program at Chicago Yacht Club and the Midwest Inter-Scholastic Sailing Association. He served the Chicago Yacht Club Race Committee for 25 years, serving as

Chair in 1979 and became a recipient of the Kay Baxter Recognition Trophy in 2006.

He served the Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac Committee for 15 years, Chicago Yacht Club Protest Committee for 22 years and was Chair 3 years (1986-1989), was the Chicago Yacht Club Lake Michigan Yachting Association (predecessor organization to Lake Michigan Sail Racing Federation) delegate for 3 years, the Chicago Yacht Club Junior Activities Committee for 21 years, the Chicago Yacht Club Sea Scouts program for 5 years, the United States Yacht Racing Union as a Judge from 1979-1996, the United States Yacht Racing Union Appeals Committee (1987-1996), and was a member of the Chicago Yacht Club Board of Directors.

Ray served the Inter-Scholastic Sailing Association Board of Directors for 8 years. He was a two-time recipient of the Inter-Scholastic Sailing Association Jeff Spranger Award, in recognition of his extraordinary dedication and selflessness in cheerful accomplishment of the many tasks which make school sailing work for sailors, in 2000 and and again in 2009.

Ray was the recipient of the United States Yacht Racing Union Arthur B. Hanson Rescue Medal in 2001.

Ray influenced the sailing careers of many sailors on Lake Michigan. He created and endowed the Teborek Family Trophy which is given to the top junior male sailor each year at Chicago Yacht Club. This trophy serves as an incentive to those junior sailing program participants who have gained the highest levels of junior sailing skill.

Ray competed in 27 Chicago to Mackinac races and in 2018, with his sons and lifelong crew members, he won the coveted Mackinac Trophy aboard his sail yacht Challenge.

Raymond Teborek is hereby inducted to the Lake Michigan Sailing Hall of Fame.

December 6, 2023

Raymond Teborek was nominated by the Board of Directors of Chicago Yacht Club.



Copyright ©  Lake Michigan Sail Racing Federation. All Rights Reserved.